If you are a strict
vegetarian, eating cheese in the US can be a problem
(this is due to
which is often used in the process of cheese making).
But a friend once gave me fantastic advice. If the cheese is
Kosher, it has to be vegetarian. A
Kosher cheese is usually indicated by a K or U on the cheese.